null Skip to main content

Fairy Star of Enchantment-Wiccan Feri-Elven Star-Kabbalah Sphere of Netzach

(No reviews yet) Write a Review
Adding to cart… The item has been added

MEANING: The Star of Enchantment is a continuously drawn, acute angle, figure having seven points, called a septagram, (this carving is encircled with a narrow band). Encirclement of a symbol contains the energy within, enhancing its meaning of protection. Another aspect of encirclement is it puts each of the points it touches into a relationship or wholeness.

The Seven-Pointed Faery Star is an emerging symbol in contemporary magick. Also known as a Fairy Star or Elven Star, it is most often used to represent the worlds of Faery. It can be displayed as a protective shield, a focal point for meditation, or a symbol of the Shining Realms.

Celtic-tinged Fae practitioners may use the Faery Star instead of, or in addition to, the five-pointed pentagram. The Faery Star expands awareness of directionality from five to seven (North, South, East, West, Above, Below, and Within). Because "Below" and "Within" are generally hidden from sight, they hint at the unseen Realms of Faerie. Curiously enough, the land of Faerie is usually said to exist either in the imagination (within) or in a hidden place, perhaps in the Underworld (below). Another comparison is, the seven-pointed star reflects planetary (celestial) magic, while the pentagram encompasses magic of the elements and the Earth.

And another representation of the seven points: 

The Sun: Procreator of life, the spark of regeneration, and the divine spark that burns within each of us.

The Forest/Woods: Embraces the life, fertility, powers of abundance and generosity of the Forest (undeveloped, untamed) environment.

The Sea: The sea drives the weather of the world and, as the birthplace of life on earth, its waters represent the waters within the womb and the blood that flows through our veins. It is from the Sea that dreams, intuition and emotions arise

Magic: The Fae are believed to be Magic in and of themselves, which includes everything from the profoundly simple Magic of a snowflake to the more complex but natural Magic of crossing through the veil, immortality, shape-shifting, granting boons and wishes, cursing and hexing, and such. It is not a matter of understanding Magic, but of living Magic.

The Moon: Here the Moon represents the Goddess, the bringer of light and giver of life to the Sun God. She lights the dark night skies and creates the tides. The Moon governs the Goddess mysteries, women’s health, the home, children, prophetic dreams, reincarnation, sleep, and emotional healing. When she is waxing, she governs growth and sensuality, including increasing things such as good luck, money, and love. When she is full, she governs emotions and the psychic, such as divination. When she is waning, she governs the spiritual, the underworld, death and transformation, including banishing, binding and eliminating things such as negativity, bad habits, disease, and obstacles.

The Wind: Wind as an elemental encompasses constant movement, while Air is both movement and stillness. From light, playful breezes to cruel, punishing hurricanes, Wind elementals are never still.

Connection/Spirit: This is the point where heaven and earth, spirit and matter are conjoined. It is where all; Nature, Fae and Humans are the embodiment of Divinity. Nature and the Fae are our greatest spiritual teachers, showing us how we are all interconnected and how accessible deity is–in the world around us and within us.

SILVER ELVES HISTORY: The acute angle 7-pointed star was first adopted as a symbol of the Elven people by the founders of the Elf Queen's Daughters; Arwen and Elanor, in the early 70s, and then passed on by Zardoa Silverstar of the Silver Elves in the Magical Elven Love Letters, which has been adopted by elven and faerie folk all over the globe, and is called both the Elven Star and the Faerie Star (see Emily Carding's new book "Faerie Craft"). You can read in a sample letter from the book "Magic Talks" how Arwen of the Elf Queen's Daughters describes the esoteric meaning of the star to symbolize the 5 senses, with the human body:5 points of 2 legs, 2 arms and a head, along with the 6th and 7th point symbolizing the two wings and entrance into the angelic kingdom.

It signifies Enchantment and Wizardry and can be seen in illustrations of the Tarot.


In addition to the Fae meaning, the septagram is important in Kabbalist Judaism, where it symbolizes the sphere of Netzach, the seven planets, the seven alchemical metals, and the seven days of the week.

The septagram became a traditional symbol for warding off evil in Catholicism. To Christians it represents the seven gifts of the Spirit - wisdom, understanding, counsel, might, knowledge, fear of the Lord, and delight in the Lord. 

SIZE: based on a 10 - 10.5 inch circle

THE CARVING: Our carvings are single pieces of western red cedar, designed and carved to be wall hangings.  Each carving begins as a 1 X 12-inch cedar board.  While we use power tools (Scroll Saw, Rotary shaft Tool, handheld detail sanders, etc.), we use no lasers, CNC machines or computer-operated cutting machines.  All work is done with our hands and eyes… 

We cut the 2-dimensional blanks with scroll and jig saws (double-sized custom orders have to be cut with a jigsaw). Carving is done with rotary shaft tools and disc grinders. The 80-grit sanding is the final phase of the carving process, removing the nicks and gouges from the carving tools, and finishes the shaping of the weave. The next 2 sandings with 120 and then 220 grit finishes the smoothing and polishing. They are finished with Clear Danish Oil to seal the piece, bringing out the grain and the color.